KAA honors artists of all ages

Winners of Keizer Art Association’s (KAA) dual February exhibit were announced online on Saturday, Feb. 6. Awards were bestowed in the Winter Show and the McNary Art Show.

Winter Wanderer, a watercolor of a bear in winter by Angela Wrantz won first place in the KAA Winter Show’s 2D category; second place honors went to Remembering Auxerre, France, a pencil drawing by Michael Dora. Cherry Trees, an acrylic painting by Jo Ann Leadingham won a third place ribbon. 

The winners in the photography category were Buddha Napping by Gary Olsen-Hasek (first place), Freeze Fall by Suzie Torre-Cross (second place) and Honor Guard by Donna Lee (third place). 

Digital art winners in the Winter Show exhibit were Bird Bath Dove by Gary Olsen-Hasek (first place), Over the Rainbow in Maui by Rebecca Lockwood (second place) and Silver Lake Thaw by Gary Olsen-Hasek (third place).

Martha Hughes won first place in 3D art for her textile piece, Edo Art. Kylie Saddler-Penick won first place honors in the youth art category for her painting titled Fresh Fruit.

Named Best of Show in the Winter Show was Sunset in Full Bloom in colored pencil by Debbie Bowen.

Juror’s Merit award winner was Karen Saleen for her colored pencil piece of two wine glasses, Empty Reflections.

Best Top winners in the McNary Art Show—honoring high school artists—were named in three categories: photography, 2D art and digital art. First place in 2D art went to Naia Faulkner’s Real. Coat by Bella Biondi won second place in 2D art while Meghan Arritola’a Shoes took third place. 

Digital art winners were Fairy Rhapsody by Bella Beard (first place), Tango by Angela Bakanov (second place), third place honors went to Quarantine Selfie by Aydan Bryant.

In the photography category, first place was won by Abbie Covalt for Growing Up, second place went to Naturally Golden, also by Abbie Covalt and third place went to Elise Ali for Sunset.

Best of Show honors in the McNary Art Show was presented to Angela Bakanov’s Slavic Folk Tales.

All the winners and entries can be see on the association’s website: