Mavs League announces award recipients for 2021 season

Rick Phillips prepares to take a big swing. Phillips was named the 2021 Mavericks League MVP after hitting .403 with 59 RBIs (File).

Last week, the Mavericks League announced their individual award winners for the inaugural 2021 season.

Manager of the Year: Daniel Robertson- Campesinos

Led the Campesinos to a 39-9 record and a Mavericks League championship.

MVP: Rick Phillips- Campesinos

Led the league in batting average (.403), RBIs (59), hits (75), doubles, (20), steals (21) and slugging (.656). Phillips also hit seven homers, scored 45 runs and was a Silver Slugger award-winner.

Pitcher of the Year: Colby Neely- Campesinos

Had a 12-1 record on the year over 97. 2 innings, both top marks in the league. Neely also led the league with 112 strikeouts and had a 2.40 ERA on the season.

Reliever of the Year: Travis Edgar- Mavericks

In 200 appearances, Edgar had six saves and a 3.58 ERA over 27.2 innings, striking out 47 and walking 21.

Closer of the Year: Luke Laurita- Campesinos

Led the league with seven saves on the season, to go along with a 2.81 ERA over 32 innings. Laurita’s 22 appearances on the season was also the top mark in the league.

Silver Sluggers:

C: Drake Zarate- Mavericks

Batted .321 and led the team in home runs (6). Zarate also had 32 RBIs, 29 runs scored and 43 hits.

1B: Eric Whitfield- Campesinos

Batted .338 with eight homers and 45 RBIs while slugging .571.

2B: Patrick Chung- Campesinos

Led the league in OBP (.522), runs (63) and walks (43) and slugged .574. Chung’s 70 hits, 15 stolen bases and .398 batting average were the second best marks on the team. He also hit four homers and knocked in 33 runs.

SS: Trevor Morrison- Campesinos

Was the league-leader in homers (9) and was second on the team in hits (67), runs (52) and slugging percentage (.591). Morrison also batted .360 on the season with 55 RBIs, eight doubles and four triples.

3B: Collin Runge- Campesinos

Batted .317 and was second on the team with 56 RBIs. Runge also had five homers, 60 hits, 16 doubles and 44 runs scored.

LF: Nick Ybarra- Campesinos

Had a .349 batting average and a .390 OBP while slugging .566.

CF: Rick Phillips- Campesinos

DH: Edgar Vela- Senators

Led the team in nearly every hitting category with seven homers, 29 RBIs, 33 runs scored, 59 hits, nine doubles, a .353 batting average, an OBP of .439 while slugging .557.

RF: Tony Holton- Volcanoes

Was second on the team in RBIs (28), hit .315 and slugged .441 while stealing nine bases.

UTL: Matt Holliday- Mavericks

Was the team leader in RBIs (36), slugging (.511), hits (58) and doubles (12). Holliday also batted .333 with five homers and a OBP of .419.