Volcanoes sweep Senators, Campesinos mop-up Mavs

Garrett Kueber, of the Volcanoes.

Thursday, July 1: 

Volcanoes 4, Senators 1

Landen Barns’ two-run single in the eighth inning provided the final runs of the game, with CJ Epperson scoring.

Mason McAlister was the winning pitcher, striking out six in his five innings. The loss went to Matt Duniway.

The Senators started the scoring, with Jordan Drake singling Matt Lokken and Nick Adgar home in the fifth inning.

Thereafter, it was all Volcanoes. In the seventh, Sam Jones singled Barns home. Then Bryan Ruby scored on a ground out by Garrett Kueber.

Friday, July 2: 

Campesinos 7, Mavericks 0

Sergio Rey and Rick Phillips led the attack, each getting three hits. Rey hit a triple and a double, drove in two runs, and scored two. Phillips tripled, scored one run, and drove in one.

Colby Nealy was the winning pitcher, going six innings and striking out six. Taking the loss was Riley Newman.

Jeff Chandler’s two-run homer started the scoring in the first inning. Also in the first, Phillips singled Patrick Chung home.

In the fourth, Rey doubled to drive in Trevor Morrison and Collin Runge. Rey then scored on a single by Eric Whitfield.

Morrison scored Phillips with a triple in the fifth.

The final run came in the eighth, when Rey scored as Whitfield grounded out.

Saturday, July 3: 

Campesinos 7, Mavericks 6

(10 innings)

The Campesinos had a 5-1 lead going into the sixth inning, when a five-run rally put the Mavericks ahead by a run.

The Campesinos tied the score with a run in the bottom of the sixth, and it was still 6-6 after nine. In the bottom of the 10th, Eric Whitfield singled Trevor Morrison home for the win.

Patrick Chung was the biggest hitter of the game, starting the scoring with a solo home run in the first. He hit a bases-loaded triple in the fourth, driving in Jeff Chandler, Joseph Nunn Jr., and Eric Whitfield.

In the Mavericks sixth, Danny Garcia reached first base on an error that let L Jiminez and Parker Swindell score and moved Nicholas Markantonatos to second. A wild pitch scored Markantonatos and moved Josh Jubile to third. Alex Emerson tripled, scoring Rodny Rodriguez and Jubile. A sacrifice fly by Whitfield scored Morrison.

Luke Laurita was the winning pitcher and Travis Edgar the losing pitcher.

Saturday, July 3: 

Volcanoes 5, Senators 3

The cellar-dwelling Senators led 3-1 after 5-1/2 innings, but the Volcanoes added a run in the sixth and scored three times in the eighth.

Blayze Arcano-Liacuna started the Senator scoring with a solo home run in the second. Later in the Senator second, Jordan Myrow singled, scoring JaVon Logan. In the bottom of the second, the Volcanoes’ CJ Epperson scored on a passed ball.

The Senators’ third run came in the sixth on a sacrifice fly by J Drake that drove in Edgar Vela. In the Volcano sixth, Gabriel Cotto scored Landen Barns with a double.

In the bottom of the eighth, Tony Holton singled and stole second base. Nick Adgar brought Holton home with a triple. Cotto scored Adgar with a sacrifice fly. Barns reached second on a passed ball and scored on a single by Bryan Ruby.

Philip Rowland was the winning pitcher, and Israel Cruz took the loss.

Sunday, July 4: 

Volcanoes 13, Senators 7

The lowly Senators outhit the Volcanoes 13-9, but the Volcanoes’ seven-run seventh inning was too much for them.

After three innings, the Senators led 6-4, but the Volcanoes tied the score in the sixth, and then the big rally came. Three hits, three walks, two errors, two stolen bases, two wild pitches, and a hit batsman did the job.

Nick Adgar had three hits for the Volcanoes, and Bryan Ruby had three runs batted in.

Brenden Nipp was the winning pitcher in relief with nine strikeouts in his 4-1/3 innings. The loss went to Senators starter Carson Olsen.