Mavericks League, Sports

Mavericks League announces ’22 All-Star selections

The Mavericks League announced their All-Star selections with an 18-man roster from the Volcanoes, Mavericks, Senators and Campesinos. 

The Volcanoes lead the way with eight selections and five starters, including the two fan votes — third baseman Jose Villa and pitcher Jared Bell. Joining Villa and Bell from the Volcanoes are first baseman Matt Holiday, second baseman Shoma Yoshida, outfielders Tony Holton and Juan Carlos Abreau, and pitchers Matt McDonald and Jake Lialios. 

The Senators aren’t far behind with six All-Star selections and four starters which include league home run and RBI leader Anggeddy Almanzar, shortstop Garrett Kueber, outfielder Blayze Arcano, designated hitter Edgar Vela, and pitchers Chase Jessee and Matt Geoffrion. 

The Mavericks and Campesinos each have two All-Stars. 

Third baseman Victor Diaz and pitcher Carsi Walker represent the Mavericks, while pitcher Andrew Baxter and utility player Alex Marquand are there for the Campesinos. 

The league plans to distribute a trading card set of the Mavericks League All-Stars to fans again this season like they did last year.