Six new volunteer FireFighters sworn in

Keizer Fire Chief Ryan Russell swears in new firefighter volunteers, from left: Arianna Grant, Ryan Belcher, Eduardo Gomez, Justin Johnson, Titus Spangle and Stone Spangle. Photo/LYNDON ZAITZ of the Keizertimes

The Keizer Fire District swore in six new volunteer firefighters before families and friends on Saturday morning, June 15.

Eduardo Gomez, Arianna Grant, Justin Johnson, Stone Spangle and Titus Spangle took the oath in the fire station by Fire Chief Ryan Russell.

The volunteers, all graduates of the Santiam Firefighter Academy, will begin working shifts immediately.

The sixth volunteer, Ryan Belcher, also was presented with two awards: the Ember Award, which exemplifies the academy’s motto of Pride, Honor and Integrity. Belcher maintained perfect attendance and classroom scores while at the Academy.

Belcher was named the Silent Hero Award winner, voted on by fellow recruits.

The Santiam Firefighter Academy is formed with the joint cooperation of 11 Marion County fire districts, all for the training of new firefighter recruits.

Justin Johnson receiving his firefighters badge
Eduardo Gomez get his new badge attached
Award winner Ryan Belcher who maintained perfect attendance in his classes as well as being named the Silent Hero Award winner.

Contact Publisher Lyndon Zaitz:
[email protected] or 503-390-1051

SUBSCRIBE TO GET KEIZER NEWS — We report on your community with care, depth, fairness, and accuracy. Get local news that matters to you. Subscribe today to get our daily newsletters and more.