Campesinos win inaugural Mavericks League title

The Campesinos celebrate winning the Mavericks League championship game against the Volcanoes on Saturday, Sept. 4 (KEIZERTIMES/Matt Rawlings).

The Campesinos have been the top team in the Mavericks League for the entire season, but on Saturday, Sept. 4, the squad officially got to call themselves champions.

Colby Nealy went six strong innings on the bump and the Campesinos offense scored eight unanswered runs to claim the first ever Mavericks League championship by . . .

You have reached content available exclusively to Keizertimes digital subscribers.

Receive a 3-day free trial of unlimited digital access.

Already a subscriber? Login here.