Election results are in for Marion County

Ryan Patraw process ballots at the Marion County Clerk’s Office in Salem on Monday, May 16. Each ballot goes through several steps before it is scanned to have the vote tabulated. )Photo by RON COOPER of the Oregon Capital Chronicle)

The November showdown for governor will include Democrat Tina Kotek and Republican Christine Drazan – although if Marion County voters had their way, it would have been Bud Pierce, instead, who was awarded almost 27% of Republican votes in the county – more than 1,000 ahead of the district-winner Drazan.

Projected winners also include Andrea Salinas in Oregon’s 6th District, who garnered more than 30% of Marion County’s Democrat votes. Republicans came out strong for Mike Erickson, who received nearly 6,500 votes, or roughly 37% of the GOP primary electorate in the county.

It appears Eric Swenson has clinched the Democratic nomination for Oregon State Senate’s 11th District, getting almost 45% of the Democrat vote – less than 700 votes separated Swenson from his nearest competitor, Richard Walsh. On the Republican side, Kim Thatcher clinched the nomination in a runaway, currently sitting at 93% of Republican voters in the district.

Robert Husseman conceded his 21st District State House race to Ramiro Navarro on May 18. Navarro won with more than 65% of Democrat votes in the district. Somewhat like the State Senate’s 11th District played out on the Republican side, with Kevin Mannix dominating the House race at 84% of Republican votes.

Spencer Todd conceded his Marion County District Attorney race to incumbent Paige Clarkson late in the day, May 18.