Riley Repp grapples with his McMinnville opponent during a meet held December 6. (Submitted by Jim Sweigart)

Riley Repp grapples with his McMinnville opponent during a meet held December 6. (Submitted by Jim Sweigart)

The McNary High School varsity wrestling squad swept a dual meet last Thursday at Sprague High School.

The Celtics squeaked by Tualatin with a 37-36 victory, then easily beat Sprague 57-24.

In JV action, McNary beat Tualatin 44-15 and earned a tie with Sprague at 36-36.

Jason Ebbs, McNary wrestling coach, said the match of the night was Celt Hector Maldonado taking down returning state placer Cliff Baxter of Sprague, 5-4.

“In a heated battle, Maldonado won by fighting off a late takedown effort by Baxter,” Ebbs said.

The MHS wrestling team was scheduled to host South Salem on Wednesday, after the Keizertimes went to press. The Celts are scheduled to compete in Saturday’s Liberty High School Wrestling Tournament.


VARSITY: McNary 37, Tualatin 36

106: Joey Kibbey (McNary) win by forfeit.

113: Jeff Whitaker (Tualatin) pinned over Riley Repp (McNary), 0:40.

120: Mike Mata (McNary) win by forfeit.

126: Louis Palos (McNary) decision over Max Houston (Tualatin), 6-4.

132: John Whitaker (Tualatin) pinned Michael Phelps (McNary), 0:39.

138: Hector Maldonado (McNary) decision over Blake Reser (Tualatin), 8-3.

145: Devin Reynolds (McNary) pinned Aleksey Milekhin (Tualatin), 1:19.

152: Graye Norlin (Tualatin) pinned Ryan Edsall (McNary), 0:22.

160: Franklin Giannone (Tualatin) pinned Michael Vargas (McNary), 1:45.

170: Grant Gerstner (McNary) decision over Kage Wabaunsee (Tualatin), 4-3.

182: Zach Hammerschmith (McNary) major decision over Kellen Poti (Tualatin), 9-1.

195: Cody Ratcliff (McNary) pinned Bryan Sobranis-Perez (Tualatin), 1:20.

220: Kenneth Walthers (Tualatin) pinned Alvarro Venegas (McNary), 1:30.

285: Cody Summers (Tualatin) pinned Mason Ross (McNary), 0:57.


VARSITY: McNary 57, Sprague 24

106: Riley Repp (McNary) win by forfeit.

113: Joey Kibbey (McNary) win by forfeit.

120: Kaleb Raber (Sprague) pinned Mike Mata (McNary), 2:40.

126: Louis Palos (McNary) pinned Trenton Martinez (Sprague), 3:22.

132: Dreagn Bennett (Sprague) pinned Michael Phelps (McNary), 1:57.

138: Hector Maldonado (McNary) decision over Clifford Baxter (Sprague), 5-4.

145: Devin Reynolds (McNary) pinned Zachary Zehner (Sprague), 5:13.

152: Yasyf Sorenson (Sprague) pinned Ryan Edsall (McNary), 1:27.

160: Victor Pangelinan (Sprague) pinned Michael Vargas (McNary), 4:27.

170: Grant Gerstner (McNary) pinned Kyle Williams (Sprague), 3:22.

182: Zach Hammerschmith (McNary) pinned Troy Dunn (Sprague), 1:24.

195: Rob Phelps (McNary) pinned Jay Burch (Sprague), 5:31.

220: Cody Ratliff (McNary) pinned Tony Swanson (Sprague), 0:51.

285: Mason Ross (McNary) pinned Erik Guerrero (Sprague), 1:35.