Grant Gerstner works the takedown. (Submitted by Jim Sweigart)

Grant Gerstner works the takedown. (Submitted by Jim Sweigart)

The McNary High School varsity wrestling team finished seventh last Saturday, Dec. 8 at the Perry Burlison Classic at Cascade High School.

McNary finished with 78 points. Sweet Home won with 156.5 points. Mason Ross (220 pounds) and Cody Ratliff (195) finished second for McNary. Hector Maldonado (138), Louis Palos (126) and Zach Hammerschmith (182) finished fifth.

The McNary JV wrestling team finished seventh in the JV tournament with 79.5 points. Sprague won with 141 points.

Jon Phelps (126 pounds) and Garrett Herbert (285) picked up JV wins for McNary. Jesse Gomez (145) and Altar Venegas (220) finished second. Abel Nelson (106) was fourth and Caleb Connor (138) fifth while Jorge Gracida (170) and Joey Delgado (220) finished sixth.

On Dec. 6 the varsity and JV McNary wrestling teams grappled with McMinnville.


VARSITY: McMinnville 57, McNary 21

106: Aspen Nelson (McMinnville) pinned Riley Repp (McNary), 1:15.

113: Steven Weant (McMinnville) win by forfeit.

120: Bryce Branson (McMinnville) pinned Mike Mata (McNary), 1:17.

126: Louis Palos (McNary) major decision over Dalton Donaldson (McMinnville), 13-3.

132: Manny Humlie (McMinnville) major decision over Jonathon Phelps (McNary) 13-1.

138: Jered Sublet (McMinnville) technical fall over Hector Maldonado (McNary), 21-6.

145: Bobby Crowston (McMinnville) pinned Jesse Gomez (McNary), 4:51.

152: J.T. Barnes (McMinnville) win by forfeit.

160: Rylan Blair (McMinnville) pinned Evan Kuenzi (McNary), 1:43.

170: Alex Kiess (McMinnville) pinned Jordan Cagle (McNary), 1:24.

182: Tiger Paasch (McMinnville) pinned Zach Hammerschmith (McNary), 1:04.

195: Grant Gerstner (McNary) pinned Chris Cerda (McMinnville), 4:40.

220: Cody Ratcliff (McNary) technical fall over Cameron Strybing (McMinnville), 18-2.

285: Mason Ross (McNary) win by forfeit.


JUNIOR VARSITY: McNary 42, McMinnville 36

106: Riley Repp (McNary) win by forfeit.

113: Alvaro Flores (McMinnville) pinned Joey Kibbey (McNary), 0:47

120: Cameron Engle (McNary) pinned Jose Nairn (McMinnville), 0:41.

126: Stanten Fanning (McNary) pinned Peyton Gonzales (McMinnville), 4:00.

132: Joseph Hunter (McNary) pinned Zach Dahl (McMinnville), 1:19.

138: Caleb Conner (McNary) decision over Lane Hessel (McMinnville), 6-0.

145: Zach Lee (McMinnville) pinned Drake Gerstner (McNary), 1:32.

152: Luke Mines (McMinnville) win by forfeit.

160: Jake McKamey (McMinnville) pinned Jonathon Salcido (McNary), 1:54.

170: Josh Blanchard (McMinnville) pinned Gage Mance (McNary), 2:20.

182: Rob Phelps (McNary) decision over Cody Bodkin (McMinnville), 9-7.

195: Bridger Purser (McNary) win by forfeit.

220: Jacob Potter (McMinnville) pinned Alvarro Venegas (McNary, 3:52.

285: Garrett Heberger (McNary) pinned Vince Williams (McMinnville), 1:02.