Of the Keizertimes

Lore Christopher swept each precinct on her way to winning her re-election bid for Keizer mayor against challenger David McKane, according to data released last week by the Marion County Elections Department.

Christopher garnered a total of 7,686 votes compared to 5,856 for McKane, currently a Keizer City Councilor.

Broken down by the eight precincts in Keizer (401 through 408), Christopher won each of the eight. Most notable was her margin in precinct 402, the northwest part of Keizer. There she garnered 1,149 votes compared to 645 for McKane.

Another contested race in Keizer was a three-way battle for the Position 3 spot on council. Marlene Quinn garnered 5,195 votes, or 46 percent. Eamon Bishop got 3,548 votes (31 percent) and Matthew Chappell got 2,499 votes (22 percent).

KEIZERTIMES/Andrew Jackson

Quinn won each precinct, with Bishop taking second in each precinct except 408, by far the smallest in Keizer. In precinct 404, Bishop had just 15 votes more than Chappell.

Dennis Koho ran unopposed for the Position 1 council seat and got 98 percent of the vote, while Ken LeDuc easily won the Position 2 battle with incumbent Brandon Smith, who ran as a write-in candidate.

LeDuc got 88 percent of the vote. Smith was not listed, but the write-in portion got 12 percent of the vote.

In the U.S. President race, Mitt Romney and Paul Ryan captured 52 percent of the vote in Keizer, compared to 45 percent for Barack Obama and Joe Biden. The gap was closer in Marion County as a whole, with Romney/Ryan winning 50 percent of the vote versus 47 percent for Obama/Biden. In Oregon overall, Obama/Biden got 52 percent versus 42 percent for Romney/Ryan.