The most dangerous time of the year for injuries and fires caused by fireworks is here.
While incidents related to fireworks occur anytime of year, most occur between June 1 and July 31 as Independence Day is celebrated.
However, if you and your family choose to use fireworks at home, obey the law and think safety.
In Oregon, legal fireworks can only be sold through July 6 at licensed retail stands. State law also requires a person be at least 18 years of age to purchase any fireworks.
Oregon law prohibits the sale or use of fireworks that do the following: A) explode; B) fly through the air; C) move more than 12 feet on smooth ground; and, D) act in an uncontrolled manner.
Examples of illegal fireworks include firecrackers, bottle or skyrockets, Roman candles and chasers.
Under Oregon law officials may seize illegal fireworks and fine offenders up to $500 per violation.
These costs may include assessed fines as well as costs of suppressing the fire by the fire department.
When using fireworks, the following safety procedures should be followed:
• Have a hose or a bucket of water handy for emergencies and to douse misfires or spent fireworks;
• Always have an adult present when children are using fireworks;
• Read and follow label directions carefully;
• Only use fireworks outdoors and away from buildings, shrubbery and dry grass;
• Light one at a time and move away quickly;
• Never point or throw fireworks at people, pets, cars or buildings;
• Keep fireworks away from small children; and,
• Do not alter fireworks or attempt to make your own.
Sparklers, often given to young children, can burn at temperatures up to 2,000 degrees Fahrenheit, and can cause serious burn injuries instantly with scars that will last a lifetime.
Firecrackers, bottle rockets, sparklers, and Roman candles cause most injuries. More than one-half of fire-works related injuries were eye injuries.